Contact Info     Contact Us: (800) 334-5353
Email Info

Institute on Arizona Leadership & Politics   arrow

Institute on Arizona Leadership & Politics

JSA’s Arizona Institute on Leadership & Politics attracts informed and engaged students from all around Arizona and the country to get an insider’s perspective on state politics and government. Over the course of the three-day program, students will meet and engage with numerous key players in state politics.

The Arizona Institute challenges students’ understandings of how state government works, civic engagement, and issue advocacy. Programs like JSA Institutes afford students the opportunity to make friends with students who share their interests in becoming informed citizens for a more effective democracy.

The Arizona Institute is supported by the Robidoux Foundation, and is hosted by The Junior Statesman Foundation. Together, this partnership has brought students to the state capitol since 2007 and has established 24 JSA chapters on high school campuses throughout the state.

Fast Facts


The program runs from Sunday, June 11 to Wednesday, June 14.


The program takes place at Arizona State University (Downtown Campus) in Phoenix, Arizona.

Past Speakers

Past speakers at JSA Arizona programs include:

Federal Government

Sandra Day O’Connor, Former U.S. Supreme Court Justice

John McCain, U.S Senator

Jon Kyl, Former U.S. Senator

Dennis DeConcini, Former U.S. Senator

Kyrsten Sinema, U.S. Congress Member

Ruben Gallego, U.S. Congress Member

Paul Gosar, U.S. Congress Member

Jim Kolbe, Former U.S. Congress Member


Arizona Government

Janet Napolitano, Former Governor/Former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security/President of the University of California System

Doug Ducey, Governor

Ken Bennett, Secretary of State

Thomas Horne, Former State Attorney General

John Huppenthal, Former Superintendent of Public Instruction

Dean Martin, Former State Treasurer

Russell Pearce, Former State Senator

Scott Bales, Chief Justice of State Supreme Court

Rebecca White Berch, State Supreme Court Justice

John Pelander, State Supreme Court Justice

Ann Scott Timmer, State Supreme Court Justice

Michael Ryan, State Supreme Court Justice

Andrew Hurwitz, Former State Supreme Court Justice

Steve Smith, State Representative, State Senator

Lynne Pancrazi, Former State Senator

Many members of the Arizona State Legislature


Media and Others

Eileen Klein, Former Chief of State, Governor Jan Brewer

Joe Arpaio, Maricopa County Sheriff

Darcy Olsen, President and CEO, The Goldwater Institute

Mary Jo Pitzl, Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Howard Fischer, Capitol Media Services

Clovis Campbell Jr., Publisher, The Informant

Andrei Cherny, CEO, Aspiration, Candidate for State Treasurer and U.S. Congress, Chair, Arizona Democratic Party

Fred DuVal, Candidate for Governor

Program Tuition

The tuition for this program is $275.